An ode to fritatta

Hello all! Yes, it’s been a while between posts – I think I might have been overly ambitious thinking I’d have lots of time to post with a young one! A’s in a pretty good routine, we’re still doing 2 naps a day, although sometimes it’s more one morning nap then an afternoon ‘rest’ but not nap – she’s probably transitioning to one nap, but we still find her morning nap good for all of us, and enjoy our lunch outings, so we won’t transition just yet! 

But we are all in transition – I’ve just started a new job, J’s just started his PhD, and A has just started daycare 2 days a week, so lots of big changes for us this year! The rambling about nap time relates to how much time I actually have – she’s on the go most of the day, requiring supervision and/or interaction, especially in the crawling to walking transition, so I find I only have time in her nap time, when I’m often napping myself, showering, or cooking, so blogging has fallen to the wayside!

The garden alas hasn’t changed much – the random weather has not been great for planting, or my existing plants, like my poor blueberries – turns out blueberries are not self-pollinating, in that they need two plants to pollinating each other, so I’ve now got two, but sadly the storms trashed my original plant, and the new one has only produced a few little berries – as usual, holding out great hope for next year! I think the location of the garden and the hardness of the stones  makes it hard for me to remember and be inspired by it at the moment – my rosemary died again! But the mint is happy, as is the society garlic, so I’ll get some more herbs going again, and leave the more intense gardening for a while.

However, the baby food cooking and freezing definitely continues! I still make a fruit purée to mix in with natural yogurt, Weetbix and milk for A’s breakfast, although sometimes she has overnight oats, sometimes pancakes if I’m in the mood! So breakfasts are pretty standard and easy, cos we’re all half asleep!

As she is a big fan of finger food, and I’m a big fan of being able to eat as well, I like an easy lunch option that I can make in big batches, freeze, then easily defrost and have it ready to go. Enter the frittata! I was not a big fan of frittata as a youngster, and I can’t say that I love it now, it’s a bit too eggy for me. However, it is the perfect way to get lots of veggies into a toddler with miminal effort! Here’s how:

  1. Process/grate whatever veggies you have – I use to grate, now I save time and energy by using my little hand held processor, it would be even better with a bigger one! Any veggies will work – I usually have 4-5 in there, like baby spinach, zucchini, carrot, kumera, capsicum, broccoli, kale – whatever you want to use up!
    image

    Grated veggies pre mixing!


    image

    Defrosted serving of frittat ready to be devoured!

     
  2. In a different bowl, beat together 4-5 eggs – I’m sure you could use the non-egg  substitute if there are allergies.
  3. Then add 1-1/2 cups of flour to the eggs and beat well –  it depends how much veggie you have and how wet it seems, the flour will bind it together, so add  more if needed.
  4. Then add 1 cup of grated cheese and the veggies, mix together, pour into a baking tray, flatten down and bake for around 30-35 mins at 180 degrees.
  5. Voila! Once it cools a bit, I cut it into little squares suitable for toddler hands, then divide it into portions and freeze them, so there are plenty ready to go! I find it makes around 12-15 serves!

 

So that’s our lunch staple – I usually add some cucumber, some bread with avocado or peanut butter, a cheese stick and some fruit, and little miss is very happy!

And she can feed herself the frittata, so I can eat too! Win win all round! I’m still enjoying sneaking veggies into things, although I will also  need to keep encouraging her to eat them in their natural state as we go on!

image

Oh yeah, love that fritatta!

Leave a Reply

